Trevor Sorbie Receives Honorary Doctorate

Congratulations to celebrated hairdresser, Paisley-born Trevor Sorbie who has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate.

Trevor, who was born in Paisley, has been named British Hairdresser of the Year four times, more than anyone else in the industry.

Trevor launched his flagship salon in London’s Covent Garden in 1979, having already made a name for himself within the industry, and is affectionately known as the Godfather of hairdressing.

Trevor’s charity mynewhair provides advice and support to a national network of independent salons and professionals who provide a wig styling service for people suffering from cancer and medical hair loss. The charity was established by Trevor in 2006 after being involved in helping his brother’s wife to create a wig that looked like real hair as she battled with bone cancer.

Trevor said: “I was completely taken by surprise when the news of my honorary doctorate was announced. I found it such an honour and I’m really humbled by it. I’ve been lucky enough to always do what I love, so it’s never felt like ‘work’ to me – so to be recognised in this way, for doing what I love, is a bonus I would never have expected. I very happily accepted the honour, and the fact that it’s come from Paisley where I was born is even more special. There are certain days in your life that you never forget, and I know that this ceremony will definitely be right up there along with receiving my MBE from The Queen.”


UWS Principal Professor Craig Mahoney said: “Trevor has extremely close links with Paisley and we are delighted to welcome him back to his home town to present him with this award. This Honorary Doctorate recognises not only his outstanding contribution in the field of business and entrepreneurship but also his social awareness of suffering in cancer patients; both areas in which UWS shares a passion.”

Leave a comment