UWS nursing graduate becomes best-selling author

A University of the West of Scotland (UWS) graduate has developed her hilarious blog into three best selling books, whilst working full-time as a nurse.

Sophie Grant who graduated with distinction from BSc Adult Nursing at UWS Lanarkshire Campus in 2016 and writes under the name Sophie Gravia, has always had a love for the English language, and during the pandemic in 2020 she started writing a blog as a distraction from the ongoing pandemic and her long shifts as a renal nurse.

Sophie’s debut novel A Glasgow Kiss became a word-of-mouth phenomenon when it was released in December 2020, securing her the no1 best-seller spot on Amazon, at one point, outselling the Fifty Shades of Grey series.

And when she later launched the follow-up novel What Happens in Dubai in August 2022, it also shot straight to number one in the Amazon book charts, securing another best-selling novel for Sophie.

The third and final instalment of the hilarious series released in August 2023, called Meet Me in Milan, has just made the Times Bestsellers list in the whole of the UK!

Sophie said: “I never dreamed of how many people would read and relate to my books! When I began writing it for the fun of it, and now it has completely changed my life. I am so excited to get Meet Me in Milan out there for my readers, it is by far my favourite of the trilogy, and I think it finishes off the series perfectly.”

Her books have become a global sensation, racking up sales of almost 250,000 so far, and two of the books have been translated into foreign languages for Hungarian and Lebanese readers.

Talking about her time at UWS Sophie told us: “I studied at the Hamilton Campus during my nursing training and had a great experience. It feels like yesterday that I was sitting in the lecture theatre scribbling notes determined to graduate! I always wanted to be a nurse, and even now, I still love my day job, but writing has opened up so many opportunities that I never dreamed possible! I hope to continue nursing, I think it’s important to give back to into society and I have a new book in the pipeline too. I’m taking each day as it comes and continue to be grateful for the opportunities that I’m given.

Sophie, who manages to find the time to write her novels whilst working full-time, has enjoyed some great coverage in the Herald, Sunday Mail and appearing on BBC Scotland’s the Nine. 

Find out more about Sophie here: https://linktr.ee/sophie.gravia_author

Meet Me in Milan is available to order from Amazon here.

Leave a comment